20 February 2024

Determined groups for new season

This year it suppose to start while the next it has to finish the fourth edition from the European version of Nations league. In the draw that was conducted on 08 February, the 54 teams were spread in 4 leagues, and divided in 14 groups the following results were achieved:

League A
Group 1: Croatia, Portugal, Poland, Scotland.
Group 2: Italy, Belgium, France, Israel.
Group 3: Netherlands, Hungary, Germany, Bosnia and Herzegovina.
Group 4: Spain, Denmark, Switzerland, Serbia.

League B
Group 1: Czech Republic, Ukraine, Albania, Georgia.
Group 2: England, Finland, Republic of Ireland, Greece.
Group 3: Austria, Norway, Slovenia, Kazakhstan.
Group 4: Wales, Iceland, Montenegro, Turkiye.

League C
Group 1: Sweden, Azerbaijan, Slovakia, Estonia.
Group 2: Romania, Kosovo, Cyprus, Lithuania or Gibraltar.
Group 3: Luxembourg, Bulgaria, Northern Ireland, Belarus.
Group 4: Armenia, Faroe islands, North Macedonia, Latvia.

League D
Group 1: Lithuania or Gibraltar, San Marino, Liechtenstein.
Group 2: Moldova, Malta, Andorra.

Immediately after the draw was made every team has found out who is playing who and when. Lithuania and Gibraltar are going to entertain each other next month with only one purpose: the winner would be guaranteed participating into the higher league, while the loser will go one step lower.
Every group stage would begin in September and end on November, while the final of the competition is scheduled for summer of 2025. But before that one novelty is introduced: quarterfinal phase is being established, and plays for these pairs has to be staged at March next year only for league A.


Post a Comment