23 May 2023

Groups for season number three

In a televised ceremony from 16 May, the North, Central America and Caribbean confederation has performed the draw for its Nations league event for 2023-24 season. As was announced earlier, for the first time League A is going to be expanded with four new teams (from 12 to 16). The outcome for the 37 of them that were divided in 9 groups is the following:

League A
Group 1: Panama, Guatemala, El Salvador, Martinique, Curacao, Nicaragua.
Group 2: Haiti, Jamaica, Honduras, Cuba, Suriname, Grenada.

Whoever are placed in the first two positions, those teams are going to play the quarter-final stage together with the first four high ranked ones (Mexico, United States of America, Costa Rica, Canada) which will be joined in the process. These duels are scheduled to kick off this November. Once the group stage is completed, part number two of this competition (finals or semi-finals, classification and last game) have to be played in March next year.
At 2024 in one of the oldest team competition in the world would play participants from this region. This being said six teams will fight to enter the Copa America event, and those are going to come only from league A.

League B
Group 1: Guadeloupe, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Sint Maarten.
Group 2: Trinidad and Tobago, Dominican Republic, Montserrat, Barbados.
Group 3: French Guiana, Bermuda, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Belize.
Group 4: Guyana, Antigua and Barbuda, Puerto Rico, Bahamas.

League C
Group 1: Bonaire, Saint Martin, Anguilla.
Group 2: Aruba, Cayman islands, United States Virgin islands.
Group 3: Dominica, Turks and Caicos islands, British Virgin islands.

Games for the last two leagues (B and C) would be played this fall (September, October, November).


Post a Comment