30 April 2022

Twelve qualifying groups for main 2023 tournament

Group A: Nigeria, Sierra leone, Guinea-Bissau, Sao Tome e principe.

Group B: Burkina faso, Cape verde, Togo, Eswatini.

Group C: Cameroon, Kenya, Namibia, Burundi.

Group D: Egypt, Guinea, Malawi, Ethiopia.

Group E: Ghana, Madagascar, Angola, Central African Republic.

Group F: Algeria, Uganda, Niger, Tanzania.

Group G: Mali, Congo, Gambia, South Sudan.

Group H: Ivory coast, Zambia, Comoros, Lesotho.

Group I: Democratic Republic of Congo, Gabon, Mauritania, Sudan.

Group J: Tunisia, Equatorial Guinea, Libya, Botswana.

Group K: Morocco, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Liberia.

Group L: Senegal, Benin, Mozambique, Rwanda.

The above 12 groups were formed 10 nights ago for one major competition that is going to be held next year. In Johannesburg, South Africa the qualifying phase layout was performed for TotalEnergies Africa Cup of nations - Ivory coast 2023 where 48 teams was included in the draw.
From each group the top two finishers are going to travel to the edition number 34 except of the eighth group where Ivory coast is already in the final competition as hosts, so only one team is going to go from H. Within the list are also written Kenya and Zimbabwe who are currently disqualified from any football activities by the world football organization. Only the green light from the affiliation is saving them, but if sanctions remain then C and K would continue its business with three teams, and for that to be avoided they must be cleared two weeks before their first elimination game.
Six qualifying stages are ahead of us: everything starts on 30 May, 14 June is the second round, for September is scheduled three and four, while the last two phases have to happen in March 2023.


Post a Comment